Leaving Valencia

In 3 weeks on Friday I leave Valencia!

This has come around so quickly! I don’t understand how this has happened. I arrived at the end of August 2015 and now I am leaving!? What is this?! I do not feel ready. I knew when I first started this job that I wouldn’t stay here indefinitely. Not because I didn’t love it here (which I do) but because I think I am too much of a family girl to be this far away from my family all the time. But when I started my second season in Valencia I remember thinking; ‘Ok, ten months, thats a long time, but make the most of it.‘ But it has gone SO quickly! It is like I blinked and tour is over! How did this happen!?

I have technically finished. My contract finished on Monday. However, I still have two days of work left. One show on the 8th of June and then choreographing and filming some dances for the new shows the following week. I have said ‘goodbye’ to most of the actors that were here. Out of the 16 of us, there are 4 of us left. One now lives in Valencia permanently and the other two are my housemates, Hazel and Tom! Tom leaves on the 15th and Hazel leaves the day after me on the 24th! I have no idea how I am meant to say ‘goodbye’. The previous ‘goodbyes’ have been horrendous! So many tears.

Valencia has so many things to offer and as much as I didn’t spend all of my time here because I went to other places in Spain on tour. It is a place that I call home. I love this city and as cliche as it sounds it will always have a special place in my heart. I know I will come back and visit. Probably next year, a couple of times to visit the actors that are staying on!

Anyway, here are a few of my favourite things about Valencia!

  • It is both a city and by the sea. I love cities but I also love to relax on the beach. So Valencia is a perfect destination for me. Especially in the summer. In the summer it definitely feels like you are on holiday, even though you will have work on Monday.
  • As a typical Brit, I love the weather here. Valencia is a very warm city to live in. Although it does get cold in the winter, it is nothing compared to an English winter.
  • Fallas! I love Fallas! It is absolutely mental and can be a little daunting when you don’t know what to expect, but it is great fun! See my post about Fallas here!
  • How relaxed everything is. This is a Spanish thing rather than a Valencian thing, but everything is much more chilled out. Nothing is rushed. Everything seems calmer. I remember turning up to rehearsals at 9:30am which is when we were due to start but then not really starting anything until 10am or after!
  • The Turia. This is the old dried out river in Valencia. It is such a beautiful place to sit in and have a picnic, or just sit in and relax! I have spent so much time in The Turia and will miss it immensely!
  • The Serranos Towers. This is such an iconic building for me. I remember the first day I saw them and felt almost at peace? It was an odd feeling but now whenever I see them I feel like I am home. It will feel odd not to see them all the time.

There are so many more reasons why I love Valencia, but it would take me far too long to write them all and I am sure it would be very boring. So enjoy the six I have written above.

Valencia Torres
The Serranos Towers
The Turia
The Turia
IMG_2623
The Beach!
IMG_2536
The City of Arts and Sciences – taken on my first weekend in Valencia!

Have you been to Valencia, what is your favourite thing about the city? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

