Success doesn’t equal fame

So as you all know I am an actor. I am currently touring around Spain doing children’s theatre. I love it and I feel incredible proud and privileged to say that I am an actor. Some people find it very interesting and ask a lot of questions, others simply assume I want to be famous. I don’t want to be famous, I want to be successful!

IMG_9627.jpg
Autograph signed after a show just outside of Madrid

So what is the difference between success and fame?

I want to be successful. For me this means being able to act for a living. I would love to make enough money through acting to support myself and a family (one day). I don’t necessarily want to be rich, I just want to be comfortable and I would love to be able to do that doing something I love! For me, this would equal success. What I am doing now is a great example, by no means am I famous (although signing autographs for children in schools is hilarious) but I am earning enough to live on! I am succeeding in my goal. I am earning money by doing what I love. Fame is when people know you. You get recognised in the street, people know who you are. You aren’t just another face in the crowd. You are a known face in the crowd. Do I want this to happen? It isn’t my goal. However, the industry I work in is extremely difficult and finding well paid work can be a nightmare. I would love to do shows in a West End theatre, I would find it incredible to see my face on the TV, and mind blowing to see my face on the big screen in a film! Find me an actor that doesn’t want those things! But this isn’t the be all and end all of my career. There are so many actors out there making a living in this crazy industry, acting their socks off, working so hard and no-one will know who they are. Success (at least for me) is possible without the fame! Having said that my job is linked to the public, so if I get a job for the BBC for a big film or an incredible role in the West End I am not likely to turn the job down. The being recognised (if it even happened) would be a side note. Not something I set out to do.


I don’t know if any of my ramblings here made sense. But it is something I get asked a fair bit and thought I would write my feelings down. I hope you found them interesting! Any comments, thoughts or questions, leave them in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

