International Women’s Day

In case you didn’t know, today is International Women’s Day!

The company I work for asked us to think about who we would choose as an ‘inspirational woman’ and film us saying a few words about them and why we find them to be inspirational. People chose anyone from a friend from home, to Audrey Hepburn and Emma Watson. I thought it was a great project for us to all be involved in and when the edit is complete I will post it on here!

malala

I chose to speak about Malala Yousafzai. If you don’t know who Malala is she is a Pakistani girl who when she was 15 years old was shot by the Taliban in an attempted assassination because she spoke out against them after they banned girls from going to school. She was shot with one bullet which went through her head and neck and ended in her shoulder, near her spine. She miraculously survived after being treated in hospital in Pakistan, Germany and then the UK. Malala and her family now live in Birmingham and she attends school there.  Malala has continued being an activist for the education of all children but she specifically focuses on the education of girls! On the 12th July 2015 (her 18th birthday), Malala opened a school near the Syrian boarder for Syrian refugees.

 Malala is incredibly inspirational, she has been through so much, she could have given up but she chose not to, she chose to fight for what she believes in and I think this shows how strong she is as a person. In the western world we have access to education and I think we take it for granted massively. Malala didn’t have the luxury of an education in Pakistan and is now using her new found position in the public eye to do good, and to raise awareness that education is important and that every child has a right to an education. Her ‘motto’ is ‘books, not bullets‘. Malala is now 19 years old and is so focused on what she believes in, and I think this is amazing and it is why I chose her as my inspiration woman for international women’s day.


I am Malala.jpeg

I also read Malala’s book ‘I Am Malala‘ last year and thought it was a fantastic read so I highly recommend it!

Who inspires you? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

