It’s world book day!

So I thought I would write an extra post this week because it is World Book Day in the UK today (it’s celebrated in April for the rest of the world though!). World Book Day started on the 23rd of April 1995 and was created to encourage children to read more books and get excited about reading! I have loved reading since I was a child and remember going into school on World Book Day and going to the book fair with my Mum to buy books!

I found The Goodreads Book Tag on Wonderfilled Read‘s blog and thought ‘why not?’
So here goes:

What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

a-monster-calls

I finished A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness last weekend. I thought the book was very easy to read and dealt with some very emotional issues. It didn’t take me long to complete the book as it isn’t very long and I found it hard to put down. The original idea for the story was from Siobhan Dowd, who died (from cancer) before she could write it.

What are you currently reading?

lolita

I have just started reading Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. I am not very far into the story but finding it very interesting and gripping so far.

What was the last book you marked as TBR (to be read)?

the-colour-purple

The Colour Purple by Alice Walker. This book has been on my radar for some time and honestly I don’t know a lot about it. But a friend of mine was sent this book by her friend the other day and it reminded me to add it to my TBR list!

What book do you plan to read next?harry-potter

As much as there are a million and one books that I want to read, I realised the other day that I hadn’t read the Harry Potter series from start to finish for a while. As an avid Potterhead, I used to read the series at least once a year and that hasn’t happened for a while. So I think after I finish Lolita, I will be read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone again!

Do you use the star rating system?

I don’t, I have never really used Goodreads. But after finding this tag and checking out their website I might make an account and start!

Are you doing a 2017 reading challenge?

I’m not. I think if I were to start a challenge I would feel a lot of pressure to read and read quickly, which means I don’t think I would the enjoy books as much. I think it would become a chore.

Do you have a wishlist?

Not an official one. I put anything I like the sound of in my Amazon save for later basket. But because I have a Kindle (I have mixed emotions about my Kindle, I do prefer an actual book) I tend to just buy the books I want straight away and then read them when I can.

What book do you plan to buy next?

Probably The Colour Purple by Alice Walker as that was put onto my TBR list the other day!

Do you have any favourite quotes? Share a few.

‘But you know, happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.’ J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

‘We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.’ J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix 

‘My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.’ John Green – The Fault in Our Stars

‘Have I gone mad? I’m afraid so, but let me tell you something, the best people usualy are.’ Lewis Carroll – Alice in Wonderland

Who are your favourite authors?

J.K. Rowling and Malorie Blackman are the first two authors to come into my head. I don’t think I have read enough single stories from the same author if that makes sense to be able to list them as a favourite? For example, I loved Me Before You and After You by JoJo Moyes but I have only read those two books by her and nothing else.

Have you joined any groups?

I haven’t, although I think I would like to in the future to give me some inspiration on what to read!


I would like to nominate three book bloggers to do this tag if they so wish:

A Frolic Through Fiction
My Happy Corner Blog
Book Adventures

Leave a Reply

