León

IMG_7149.JPGI have been wanting to go to León since the beginning of tour because I had heard from assistants and other actors (who were here last year) that it is beautiful! Finally I got a chance to go, and it was absolutely fantastic!

IMG_7153.JPG
Santa María de León Cathedral
The main ‘attraction’ in León is without a doubt the cathedral – Santa María de León Cathedral, which is also known as The House of Light. The cathedral is both stunning from the outside and the inside. From the outside the cathedral is extremely prominent, standing very tall compared to the buildings around it and from the inside you get to see the beautiful stained glass. This stained glass is the reason the cathedral is also known as The House of Light as the cathedral hosts nearly 1800 square metres of it, dating back to between the 13th and 15th century! IMG_3994.jpg

IMG_7209.JPG
The detail of the stone above the entrance
It still baffles me to this day that something so big, and so beautifully decorated could have been built all those years ago. It seemed that back then the possibilities were endless when designing something like a cathedral, the architecture is simply stunning.

Here are some of the examples of the incredible stained glass within the cathedral:IMG_7221 copy (1).jpgIMG_7232.JPGIMG_7231.JPG

IMG_7234.JPG
This was my favourite bit of stained glass in the cathedral
On my first night in León I came across (whilst exploring) what I called ‘A Funeral for a Fish’. Basically it was a sort of parade, it started with a procession of people dressed up as Bishops and Priests, followed by a coffin with a giant skeleton of a fish, and then finally a load of people dressed in black playing musical instruments.

My pictures aren’t great but here we are anyway:IMG_7182.JPGIMG_7187.JPGIMG_7185.JPG
It took me quite a long time to find out what this event actually was because everyone I asked (including the hotel receptionist!?) didn’t seem to know! However, I eventually found out that this is a ceremony which is celebrated at the end of the carnival and is called ‘Entierro de la Sardina’ which translates to ‘Burial of the Sardine’ – I prefer my name for the event ‘Funeral for a Fish’. The ceremony happens on Ash Wednesday and is meant to parody a funeral procession and is also meant to be symbolic of the past being buried and a new society being reborn.

Other than the cathedral, there are some lovely things to see:

IMG_7170.JPG
Building designed by Gaudi, now used as a savings bank
IMG_7175.JPGIMG_7179.JPG


Very rarely whilst on tour, we end up staying in the same hotel as some of the other actors in the company. It has only happened to me once, and it was whilst we were in León, so here is us enjoying ourselves in an American Diner style restaurant called Peggy Sue’s.IMG_7193.JPG


IMG_3988.jpg
I had to share this with you, as its probably the best rainbow I have ever seen. If you look carefully you can see that it is a double rainbow! We saw this whilst driving to León.
5 thoughts on “León

  1. I’ve never been to Leon, but seen many little cities and villages like that in Spain, France, Italia, and Croatia. They are lovely places, where on calm moments, it seems that time doesn’t matter so much.

    I like your photos. Maybe the ones taken in the evening could have used another white balance, but the orange tones show us the orange light coming from the street lanterns.

    How wonderful that you encountered this festival! Really adds to the experience!

    The double rainbow indeed is gorgeous!

    Thank you for sharing and keep up the great work!

    Warm regards,
    Tieme

    Like

    1. Yes, I spent ages inside the cathedral and it didn’t seem like time was passing at all!
      Thanks so much, I am thinking about getting a new camera at some point in the near-ish further that will allow me more control when taking photos!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The stained glass is brilliant. These cathedrals are beautiful. I never visit churches at home, but it is great to know that you don’t need to travel far for beauty.

        Great that you have a good time!

        I am looking forward to photos from the near-ish future 🙂

        Cheers,
        Tieme

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo!! Congratulations for this review, it’s amazing! And incredible pictures from Cathedral. The next week I will go to Leon. After reading this, I know what things I need to visit. Thank you for using your time to show how beautiful it is Spain. See you soon. :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

