Kandinsky

I was lucky enough, when in Madrid, to go to the Kandinsky Exhibition at CentroCentro. I have always liked Kandinsky’s work and the moment I knew there was an exhibition I decided to get tickets and go! I did a bit of research and discovered that on a Monday the tickets were only 5€! Bargain! Unfortunately photos are not allowed, so I wrote down a list of the works I really liked or found interesting to find pictures of them later. Here are a selection (of Google images) of the ones I liked!

improvisation 3. 1909jpg.jpg
Improvisation 3 – 1909
This picture came as a shock to me when I saw it. When I think of Kandinsky I think of very abstract work with straight lines and circles, this was a contrast to what I was used to where you can actually make out a figure riding a horse. I never would’ve guessed this was a Kandinsky piece.

impression 5 1911.jpg
Impression 5 – 1911
Compared to the previous picture, this picture is slightly closer to the Kandinsky style that I am used to. Instead of having realistic forms of animals and people, this uses shape and lines in a slightly more abstract way.

small worlds 1922.jpg
Small Worlds 1 – 1922

black grid 1922.jpg
Black Grid – 1922
1922 was the start of Kandinsky’s Bauhaus Period which ended in 1933. The two pictures above, Small Words 1 and Black Grid, were painted in 1922 which was the start of this phase of work. The Bauhaus Period hosts some of my favourite pieces and are probably some of his most famous. I love how in this phase of his work the boldness of his art comes out. The think lines, abstract shapes and generally very bright, bold colours.

yellow red blue 1925.jpg
Yellow-Red-Blue – 1925
Arguably one of Kandinsky’s most famous works, I was so excited to be able to see it in real life! I stood in front of this picture for ages, and when I had completed the exhibition I went back to have a look again. I love how you can create your own pictures within this image (as you can with a lot of Kandinsky’s pieces). Most people acknowledge that they can see a profile of a face on the left hand side but the rest is so interesting to just look at and get lost in!

accent on rose 1926.jpg
Accent on Rose – 1926

on the points 1928.jpg
On the Points – 1928
The last two picture, Accent on Rose and On the Points, both made me think of a similar theme – space. I hadn’t seen either piece before and liked them both. The first picture makes me think of being in space because all the circles remind me of stars or planets with the central grey square making me think of Earth. The following picture reminds me of a rocket, perhaps just about to take off. I bought postcards of these two pieces.

thirty 1937 .jpg
Thirty – 1937
We are no longer in the Bauhaus Period of work, and this piece, again, is nothing like the Kandinsky work I am used to. The piece is called ‘Thirty’ because there are thirty squares with images in them. A lot of the images make me think of science, they look like they could be parts of cells.

sky blue 1940.jpg
Sky Blue – 1940
When I first saw this picture I was instantly struck by how it could fit so easily in a child’s bedroom. The colourful shapes, some of which I still think look rather cell like, others more like animals, look very playful against the blue background. I could almost imagine some of the images being turned into cuddly toys for a child to play with. I had never seen this piece before and it really did make me smile.


These pictures are by no means the only pieces of work in the exhibition that I liked, but I thought just choosing a small selection which shows some of the development and evolution of Kandinsky’s work would be interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

